I LOVE SCHOOL!!! 2003-09-26 @ 3:58 p.m.

When people ask me why I dress the way I do, the way I see it is there are two valid answers. One is that it shows how I feel about society, social groups, politics, music, teenagers, culture and art. The other is that people get out of my way when I walk down the street.

Of course that depends on what exactly I'm wearing, but if I'm wearing my baggies and my "Fuck all designer labels" t-shirt, they move faster than light.

I love ignorant people! They're hillarious! I was wearing a Nirvana t-shirt in school, and sitting next to a bunch of anorexic townies, and one of them saw my t-shirt and they said "Nirvana? Who's that?" and another one said "They're a rock band aren't they?" another one "Oh they're like Slipknot aren't they" Christ, I LOVE these people, they are SO funny.

But also it does show I'm crap at making friends. I was getting on alright with them until I burst out laughing.

But Sociology kicks ass! We were basically discussing what's natural and what's induced by society. It was a true or false type thing, but some of the questions were:

* Romantic love is a natural part of human experience, and is therefore found in all societies, in close connection with marriage.

* How long people live is dependant upon their biological makeup and cannot be strongly influenced by social differences.

* In all societies some people will be unhappy or depressed, therefore rates of suicide will tend to be the same througout the world.

* Most people everywhere value material wealth, and will try to get ahead if there are oppportunities to do so.

There were more but those were really the only four that interested me. I disagree with all of them. To start with I was leaning towards agreeing with the last one, but then the teacher gave us a little history lesson about the Sioux Indians (Native Americans)

He was telling us how they all considered wealth unimportant, and they all had their pipes, but anybody who wanted two pipes, or a bigger pipe was seen of as in a way, sick. And he said that's why they were so shocked when we came in and took all their land and started murdering them. They didn't fight back because they were so shocked that people would want to take from them. Obviously I know nothing of this other than what the teacher said, but I'm definately doing some reading on it. Fascinating.

We also learned about the differences between liberal education and pragmatic education, and I am actually LOOKING FORWARD to writing the essay. Because shockingly nearly all of my class were all for pragmatic education. I thought at least some of them would put on at least a.. pretence .. of actually wanting to learn.

I mean I don't just go to school to get a qualification, I really do enjoy some aspects of it. You know, even with no friends at the moment or anything, I am really begining to enjoy it.

I was seriously depressed and angry last night and today I am so happy. Dammit. I wish my emotions would.. cool off a little. It's like every time I write an entry about my emotions they do a 180.

I'm babysitting tonight for my sister Naomi's best friend Alex. She's the little girl who I convinced to stick her finger in the candle flame and then felt so guilty that I gave her all my bracelts in penance. She's lovely. And she gets on so well with my sister. In fact when she was in nursery they were worried about it and trying to seperate them because they thought children that age shouldn't be forming such close bonds with other children. But I think it's lovely. I hope they're friends for their whole lives, I really do.>