Dude! Where's my planet! 2004-01-10 @ 2:16 a.m.

Today, in a huge rant about George W and the powers he has that he shouldn't have and how American government is all made up of right wing nutcases, and how trade unions are a fundamental right and how I thought the fire fighters should have stood their ground and various other things - I realised something.

There is something that upsets me more about George W Bush than his being right wing scum that never got elected in and enjoys bombing the crap out of people and then making it sound like there's a massive terrorist threat so American people elect him in again blah blah blah - There's something that upsets me more than that. More than his stupidity. More than his homophobia. More than his greed. More than his accent.

He is destroying the planet.

He is fucking wiping out forests, allowing rivers to go on being polluted, using up irreplaceable fossil fuels like nobody's business. He's the first presendent in a long line (I can't remember who the last one who didn't was) to not require SUVs to improve their mileage. He is the fucking anti-christ. Species are dying out because of him. There's a big fucking hole in the ozone layer.

I have to suffer the consequcnes of this. If I have children, they will have to suffer the consequcnes of this. I live on the other side of the Atlantic. I did not elect George Bush in. Most of the world did not elect George W Bush in. Hell, most of America did not elect George W Bush in. And most of these people would never have elected him in, not in a million years, because they have values.

Now, as I was saying. I didn't elect him in. I am not an American citizen. I am in no way responsible for him sitting in the White House. But I have to suffer because of him anyway. Due to global warming, if i have kids, by the time they grow up, there might not even be a London. England is a pretty small island, but the caps are melting, and that's the way it's looking. Beautiful animals are becoming extinct. When my kids grow up, what if they can't turn a light on anywhere because the main providers of our energy have all been used up. Hang on - what if they all die due to nuclear radiation. WHat then huh?

People only think in the short term. And this matters more than stuff like whether or not abortion is legal. While I care passionately about that stuff too - this is an immediate problem. I don't want to live in a world that is a shell of this one.

This is my planet too. And I wish George W (And all right wing Americans) would get the fuck off it.>