Annie's little friendies. 2003-09-29 @ 5:46 p.m.

I made two friends today. Ones that might actually work.

The first was a girl who was sitting on this sofa with me, and some teacher came over and made us start talking, and she's taking her GCSEs because she just came over from Belgum or something, and one of the first things she said to me was "It's almost like half the people here pride themselves in being uncultured!" and I just thought "Yesss!"

The other I met while on my trip to parliament. I tripped over right before we got in there, and he helped me up, I grinned at him and said "My name means graceful you know!" big tall gothic guy who I was too scared to talk to before. We got into conversation about various things, I kept getting told off by the tour guide (For wandering off to look at paintings, sitting on chairs that I wasn't supposed to sit on, touching things I wasn't supposed to touch etc etc) and me and Nathan (the gothic guy) were making a joke out of it. Every time I got told off, he'd go "Annnnnieeee!"

And we were pulling odd expresisons at eachother to try to stop ourselves from laughing at the thick townies. For example, this liberal democrat MP was talking, adn we were listening, and people kept asking him questions, and every time someone used a big word, like "judicial" these two townie girls would go "uhhh uhhh!" and look completely amazed.

But that's not it! They were telling us about how the queen isn't allowed in the house of commons, and this girl started talking about how that's "uh.. yeah.. a uhh.. breech of her human rights" me and Nathan just looked at eachother again. THen he got me home safely, and we're going to meet eachother for lunch tomorrow. Which I have discovered means I'll have to go into school earlier than I normally would, just to see him. But I'm not going to tell him that. I'd feel stupid.

I also talked a little bit to this other guy who seems okay. But not much. He's not a very good ocnversationalist, although he is really nice.

I made friends today! My miserable bout is over! You can all be happy for me!

He was talking about the reason he looks out for alternative people is because he just knows they'll be fucked up. "And then we'll have something in common" cheerful conversation. He didn't seem particularly fucked up, in fact he seemed pretty damn sensible for someone our age, but I think he said something about getting seriously depressed sometimes. I didn't quite catch it though.>