Slipknot 2003-08-18 @ 12:01 a.m.

I like Slipknot.

I won't be told that their music is designed for pathetic, rich, fat, twelve year olds who have problems fitting into any groups, because I know that. I won't be told that they have no musical talent and just make fuckloads of money from jumping and screaming angrily, because I know that. I won't be told that they're really sad 30 year old men with wives and kids who just prance around in boiler suits, because I know that. I won't be told that a lot of their anger and aggression is fake, because guess what? I already know that.

So what's the problem?

People like Ben and Kalim. Snobs who think that somehow they are superior because their taste in music is more refined (Whatever, I call that closed minded) than the rest of ours. And somehow if somebody likes a preceived as shitty band like Slipknot, they must automatically just be some middle class person desperate to seem like they're not so, desperate to fit in, never actually knowing what good music is because they've never heard it.

Guess what guys? I've heard the Beatles, and I've heard Hendrix, and I've heard The White Stripes, and Nirvana is one of my favourite bands. Bob Marley was indeed a bit of a genius and I also like Bob Dylan (except I go for his more political folky stuff) I've listened to Nora Jones even though I didn't really like her, and I've listened to Weezer. I've "Opened" my mind and I've listened to some rap music, Eminem, I even gave 50 cent a go. I liked Eminem to a degree, I thought 50 cent was worthless crap.

So do you know what? A GCSE in music does not make you superior to me in judging what band is a good band and what band is a bad band. I won't feel bad for liking the Sex Pistols, I won't feel bad for liking Greenday, I won't feel bad for liking Anti-Flag, I won't feel bad for liking Sum 41 and I will not feel bad for liking a pathetic and crappy band like Slipknot either. If I enjoy something I'll listen to it. And you musical snobs (and there are a lot of you out there) give me such a bloody headache.

I'm sorry. That rant was pretty random. I just saw some Slipknot lyrics and I remembered what I thought they were when I first heard them. I thought the line "Don't ever judge me" was actually "Don't ever change me" and to this day I prefer my version (because of all my "change" issues and not wanting to settle down and be something I'm not) But then I remembered I'm not allowed to like Slipknot because they're manufactured crap. Meh. Well I just put my Slipknot in my CD player and I'm going to go have a pleasant evening cleaning my room while listening to it.

Annie>