books shrouded in secrecy 2003-09-08 @ 3:47 p.m.

What of my day? Well I only just got up, let's be honest. The past hour has been spent curled up in bed trying to drag myself all the way through Jane Eyre.

I don't dislike it as much as I initially did. At first it was a chore to keep my mother happy, as she bought it for my birthday and suchlike, but I have to admit, with only a few chapters until the end, I have finally become interested in the plot.

Also, I've learned some long words from it.

I need something to cure these idle days before school will finally come and snatch away some of this utter boredom, and I've come up with the solution.

I am going to read as many books as I possibly can within the next two weeks.

I'm going to have to write a little too - by hand, because I've discovered that over the summer I have effectively lost my ability to write with any neatness what so ever - and my handwriting has never been neat. My writing is usually the equivalent of a dyslexic 8 year old's. But now it is completely unreadable.

So basically I'm going to have to practice my handwriting. How sad is that?

I've also become painfully aware that I have no idea what is going on in the world because my television downstairs won't work at the moment, and I rarely venture upstairs. So I haven't watched the news in about 2 weeks or somehting ridiculous.

I'm ashamed. Seriously. I bet half the retards in my (old) school have more idea of what's going on in the world than I do right now. In fact when I finish this entry I'm going STRAIGHT upstairs to watch it.

I'm still afraid of the dark you know. When I turn out the lights and I start to look around, I still see things that I can't make out properly and my imagination starts to go insane with what they might be.

It's too bad that my imagination doesn't work quite as well when I actually want it to.

I'm sorry that I ended the last two entries something along the lines of "Fuck this" by the way. I was just feeling a little frustrated and closed up. And I feel like a diary is somewhere that you ought to be able to express everything, and I can't.

Well, I'll see about that, I think I might have to just start writing everything regardless. Was it not me who said that I'd express my views uncaring whether they upset anybody, unwilling to change who I was for them? And do I actually want to shroud myself in any kind of secrecy?

I'm not sure.

We still have factors like personal conversations and respecting the other person involved's privacy. But I can't currently think of anything that applies to.

Well we'll see.>