The universe and beyond 2003-10-17 @ 6:32 p.m.

When I was little, I used to think the sun was better than the Earth, because it was bigger. And the Earth, better than humans, because it was bigger. Nothing about intelligence or the capability to feel emotions came into it. It didn't matter. All that mattered was size.

But it's amazing. We all live on the Earth, this little planet, and we're so clever, and so.. emotional it's completely amazing. But we're not the only things out there. We only live on one planet in a solar system of 9.. and that's just one star. And just think, what if every single one of the stars in our galaxy alone had 9 planets. Just think how .. almost impossible it would be for alien life not to exist somewhere. It is so amazing, so increadible.

I mean people say how amazing the world is, and how impossible it would be for God not to exist. And why the Christian God? And what the hell makes them believe that this is the only planet with life on it? Are they very egotistical? Or just afraid of what's out there. We're all afraid of the unknown. Are they afraid that somewhere out in the universe there is a species that looks on us as stupid, the same way that we look on chickens and sheep. Are they afraid that there is some species that is bigger, better and more advanced than us?

There's so much to fear, but so little reason to fear it.

I'm not afraid of death anymore. I'm not looking forward to it, but what is there to fear? Worst comes to the worst and I end up in some sort of hell. What for - there's no way I could know. But if I were to end up in hell - my suspicions about God being a sadist would just be confirmed. What kind of person makes somebody suffer for eternity? People just do not understand quite how long eternity really is.

If I could choose my fate after death, it would be to be reincarnated. I wouldn't be nothing (Although I'm no longer afriad of non-existance - it's probably what will happen, and if it does I guess I won't know anything about it) but I wouldn't be bored with reminders of the same old life - or with perfection. I have to say, I don't think I would like perfection. Or maybe I would when I came to it. But hey, maybe I'd like to be a Nazi if I became one, but that doesn't change the fact that I'd kill myself before I did.

The universe is so huge, and possibilities are so endless. I don't see why I should just close my mind to them in the name of logic, or in the name of blind faith either.

I'm happy. I was sad earlier. But I'm happy now.>