Controversial what though? 2003-11-22 @ 11:02 a.m.

I have to do a 10 minute talk on something "controversial" on Tuesday. I'm not sure what to go for. I have so many controversial views and I'm not sure that my stupid class will listen to any of them.

Options:

- Speech challenging homophobia or on some kind of gay rights issue. (I could wear my "Nobody Knows I'm A Lesbian" top)

- My views on the legalisation of heroin. (Could wear my "Don't Wake Up Dead" badge)

- Anti-materialism views (Could wear my "Fuck All Designer Labels" t-shirt)

- Anti-religion views (Could wear my "Kill God" t-shirt)

- Something about censorship of music (Rage Against The Machine hat)

- I could do a speech on why I think Communism is a good idea even though I don't really and wear all red.

- Why I think we should have a dictatorship instead of a democracy even though I don't really (Just cuz it's controversial!)

- Why asylum seekers should be let into the country

- Better treatment for inmates in prison

- Pro-choice speech

- Anti-death penalty

- About the breakdown of stupid subcultures (Could wear a proper grunger outfit and start talking about all the crap music I like)

- Speech on why all smokers should be deported (Don't Wake Up Dead badge) (I don't really think this either)

- About better rehabilitation facilities for drug addicts

- About free speech for those who want to repress the freedoms of others

- Availibility of contraception for those having underage sex

- Something about self harm (Cause hell, it's relavent but there isn't anything like enough attention drawn towards it)

- Hatred of advertising

- Hatred of how ethnic minority groups and / or women are portrayed in the media

- Marilyn Manson (Enough said)

- Eminem (Enough said)

- Private education (Against it, obviously)

- Religious schools (Against it, obviously)

- To obey the laws you don't agree with, or not to obey?

- Love thy enemy or just nuke him so you have no enemy?

- Protests: Do they change anything?

- Voting: Does it change anything?

- Racism in the police force

- School curriculum (Particularly the primary school curriculum)

- Voting age

- Plastic surgery

- Apathy of this generation

And so many more! How am I supposed to decide on only one controversial issue when there are so many to choose from!? I could do a 10 minute speech on any one of those! Fuck man! I don't know which out of all of those I'm most enthusiastic about. I mean I've thought of how I'd open the speech for nearly all of them. Fuck! I've thought of what I'd wear for nearly all of them!

I think I am just gonna go for Tristan's idea - find a beautiful young lesbian and start tonguing her in front of the entire class. That's challenging homophobia and certainly more fun than making an entire speech.

Or I really am tempted to do it on self harm, which is actually probably what I have the least to say about, but the last year or so has taught me that it's not something that can just be ignored, and awareness does need to be raised.

I might just talk about something really insane that I don't really agree with just for the looks on their faces. Especially the deporting smokers one.

I have a lot to say about the free speech one, cause I'm not really decided myself.

Meh, I think I'll just write speeches for all of them and see which one I like best.>