My (improving) day 2003-11-28 @ 8:19 p.m.

Today was... like a regular friday. Except, the journey was complete and utter hell.

I had to be there by 9:10. 9:10, that's not too early. I left my house at 8:25, 5 minute walk to the bus stop. Finally managed to get on a bus that wasn't full at 8:50. Fine. It usually only takes 10 or 15 minutes, I would usually have made it on time. But, oh no, it couldn't be that easy could it. Road works.

I was stuck on the bus for 40 bloody minutes, and to make this worse, I was sitting right in front of a guy whose music was playing so loudly on his walkman that the people at the front of the bus (we were very near the back) were glaring at him. The music was crap too. 50 cent. Great for people who like 50 cent, but I not only dislike it, I despise it. And it was first thing in the morning. I was tired. AND on top of that, the son of a bitch just had to take up 2 spaces on the crowded bus. This meant that he had his knee digging into my back. I swear to whatever supreme being might exist, if I ever see that anti-social bastard again, I will remove his testicals. Without anesthetic.

On my late slip, I wrote that I was kidnapped by Communists.

Then I had history. The first thing Ezra said to me was, "Wow, your outfit is... not very conspicuous" followed by "And you have some suspcious white stuff around the side your mouth" (Toothpaste). Then when Lucinda turned around (She sits at the table in front) she said, "That skirt it... incredibly short" and I'm all like "Shhhh, I don't appreciate being called a slut" and Ezra says, "Nah, you're not a slut. Just dress like one." and I know it was all good natured and all, but I was not in the mood this morning.

Fortunately, my day did get better.

After history, Ben (that's gay Ben, not Polish Ben) had tutorial right after, and then he could go home, so I was hanging around with him for the 10 minutes in between, and we were looking at this thing in his classroom about the black gay community, and I was so amused by how graphic it was in parts, like, "You're at less risk of getting HIV if you do the shaggin' rather than getting shagged". Then Ben was like, "You think that's funny? Read this." And he brings out this instruction book for useage of condoms for gay men, and it was just hillarious. I have never been so amused. Seriously. Hillarious. I can't remember exactly what they said, but trying not to laugh was incredibly difficult. I said, "Do gay men just have a lesser sense of political correctness?" and he said, "Nah, we just don't need it"

So then I had lunch time. Not so bad. I spent it with Jo, polish Ben, Alex, Azga (I don't know how it's spelled) and can't remember her name. It was enjoyable. This time Jo and I discussed our bodies and how supposedly when you hit 18 or so, your body starts to suit you. Hm... I'm just gonna hope she's right.

She's a bit brilliant. Her parents forced her to go to private school and she ended up dropping out cause she just didn't fit in. So after a couple of years, she said, "Fuck you" and went back to London to finish her schooling, where she now resides. She's cool. If I had to pick a favourite, it'd be her.

I also kind of got acceptance among them from Polish Ben. I said to them at lunch time, "Do you mind if I stalk you again?" and Jo said, "I don't think it quite counts as stalking, and Azga said, "Since we know and everything" and then I said, "Well I just feel like I'm intruding" and Ben said, "You're not intruding! There's no time limit on how much time you can spend with us! For fuck's sake! We enjoy your company! Now where do you want to go for lunch?" he's quite brilliant. I'm gonna sit next to him in tutorial from now on.

Anyhow, then Jo and Ben were smoking drugs and mocking all the rest of us (Mean children, especailly mean to Alex, seeing as she's giving up smoking and drugs and suchlike) cause we didn't have any.

Anyhow, then everybody left except for Jo and Ben, cause they didn't have lessons, and I was like "hm.. should I skip it or shouldn't I?" and Jo said "You should probably n...... well what's your teacher like?" and I said "Oh he's cool" and Jo said, "Well then you can just show up 20 minutes late or so" (Bad influence!)

And I said, "Yeah alright" and then "Shit! No! I'll get a late slip and I've already had..." and Ben said, "Oooooh yeah, Will's been bitching at you about that" so I scuttled off.

It's not my fault I live in just about the least convenient place to get a bus from in London.

I hate public transport. Fuck you Ken. Fuck you.

So then I went to Sociology, and sat next to dear Lisa, who was actually in the process of bitching at some girl about being homophobic. I was quite impressed. And we talked for a little bit, but then the teacher got snappy (Although he is usually good humoured and willing to participate in such conversations, he was having a bad day) and Lisa fell asleep.

We watched a video about these 7 year olds from a wide range of social backgrounds and their attitudes, filmed in the 1950s. It was quite interesting.

There were 3 kids out of the 20 who I warmed to in spite of myself.

One was this little mixed race boy in a childrens home who had trouble getting his words out, he was realy sweet, and certainly the most laid back and thoughtful of the lot of them.

Then there was this quite working class (But not really poor) girl who told the camera that, "Some boys are nice, and other boys aren't, and the nice ones are the ones that I like" she was quite cool too, she reminded me of my old best friend (from when I was about 10) Rian's sister Ruby.

And the other one was this really upper class boy who went to a private school, they were interviewing 3 of them together, and two of them were boasting about stuff. Like about what newspapers they read. One of them read the financial times and the other, the Observer (At seven!) and the other boy just shakes his head, and you know what he's thinking, he's thinking, "These guys are talking shit" and he interrupts them, and in his bare posh accent he says, "And whyyyy exactly do you like them?" I thought it was hillarious.

Although I found their answers scary. The one who said he read the financial times said he did because he had shares in something. At seven!

It got worse though. The children were all asked how they felt about black people (This was in the 1950s bear in mind) and aww the little sweet boy who couldn't get his words out was like, "Well they're just like me aren't they"

And the super rich boys were saying that they have nothing against them, except one of them just said "I quite agree" with everything that his mate was asked.

But there was this super rich girl, who responded,"Well, I don't know any coloured people. (She pauses and then gives a nervous laugh) And I don't think I want to either," SCARY.

And then they were asked about rich people / poor people, and one of the really upper class boys was so funny, he went, "Well........ I don't think much of the accents." (The other boy) "No, I don't either" and the first boy continued, "But apart from that, they're quite alright"

Oh it was hillarious. It was just ... fascinating. It had their attitudes towards gender, the media, marriage, their future, everything. THe funniest part was when one of the rich boys was listing off all the things he was gonna do with his future and the universities he was going to go to, and the adorable little boy who couldn't get his words out, said, "What's university" and I thought it was quite sad. But quite funny.

I love watching videos instead of doing work!

And then on my way out, I ran into the long haired guy (Steve) who was going home too, and it turned out we were catching the same bus, so we were talking about music and stuff. He's cool too.

Anyhow, this has gone on too long. I vow to write shorter, more interesting entries!>