prejudices 2003-12-19 @ 7:52 p.m.

One time I remember, I was walking home, it was about ... I don't know 7pm, but winter, so it was dark. And I was wearing a short skirt and tights. I'd just walked Ben (Gay Ben) to the bus stop and I was on the way home. Some guy came up to me and started talking to me. Tall, black, wearing Nike, and he was chatting me up. I completely blew him off, but he kept walking alongside me asking questions, you know. And then we reached my house, and he asked if he could come in, and I felt rude when I said no, but I did anyway and yeah, basically, that was the story.

But

That story could have been different. See, I think if we made this guy white, took off the Nike clothes, maybe made him into a goth, or I don't know, just a sterotypical long haired rebel type, if we made him of a slightly less intimidating height, then I might well have had him. I would certainly have far more readily opened up conversation with him, I would have flirted, possibly given him my number or my e-mail address, and had somebody else been home, quite possibly invited him in.

So that's my confession. I'm a shallow and prejudiced bitch. I don't deserve to go on living.

The only thing that I can say in my defence is that it was NOT that he was black. I mean, you know, I'll critisise myself and I'll critisise myself, but one critisism that I will not make is that I'm racist, because I'm not. But I suppose being black added to the whole "townie" culture that he was a part of. I don't know, I need to think about this because I think it's really fucked up.>