this is necessary 2004-01-12 @ 3:40 p.m.

"Weekends should be longer," so said the wise Annie.

Have you ever lay awake in the dark, terrified to so much as turn on the light in case some shrivelled hand should grab your arm once it had left the safety of the covers? Have you ever been afraid to look in the mirror, in case you should see something behind you with an axe, invisible to the naked eye? Have you ever thought the flag above your head was an axe? Have you ever convinced yourself that a ghost was sitting at the end of the bed, and been positive that if you called her name, she would show herself to you?

My imagination could be said to be a gift. I see it as a curse though. I lie awakw at night convincing myself that I can hear whispering, shuffling, I can hear people moving around in the dark. I can convince myself that the room is growing colder - when that happens I tend to start sweating with fear.

I am terrified of the dark and yet strangely it is the place I feel most comfortable. If I'm not busy convincing myself that there are ghosts everywhere in my room, dead and watching me, wanting to make me one of them - if I'm not busy convincing myself of that, when I'm in the dark, it's the best place to think. It's strange, if I try to sit and think with the television on, or with music on, or with the computer screen on, I feel uncomfortable, I have to turn al those things off before I sit and think. But the lights, if I want to think clearly, I have to turn the lights off. This often means that I don't get to think about anything but ghosts and men in white robes with axes.

So there you go. I'm sixteen and I'm afraid of the dark.

Also, I'm obsessed with Donnie Darko, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and METALLICA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!>