Jo and stealing ethics 2000-01-02 @ 6:43 p.m.

Jo is such a bitch. It's brilliant. We were having lunch, me, Jo, gay Ben and Tom and you know, just kind of sitting there having a chat, and then we looked over and there were a group of kids, maybe 13 or 14, you know they were bunking off school, having a smoke, whatever. Then they go into a shop, Monsoon I think, and they nick a couple of things and go, the security guard comes out looking for them. Jo not only tells them exactly where they went, she also goes into the shop 10 minutes later to check that they'd been caught.

Now you might think, "Nice girl, doing her civic duties" in which case.. well.. I'd be kind of astounded, but no, on the contrary, she comes back and starts talking about how back in the day, when she used to shoplift, she stopped when she was 16 (My age... don't I feel childish now) or so, she at least had standards. She stole things that she needed and she had the intelligence not to get caught. If these people did not, they deserved everything they got.

I thought that was a little bit harsh. Just because they're having a bit of a laugh and okay, they're not very talented shoplifters, doesn't really make them any worse than someone like me for instance. If I steal, I steal for much the same reason - feelings of power and control, a bit of fun, the risk, the adrenaline. I mean, yeah, I'm obviously better at it than them, and I steal stuff that I actually want... but it's no different really. But Jo, she's willing to give me tips on doing it, but she tells on these kids...

I don't know. Tom said that at least they'll be embarassed and probably won't do it again, and that way they won't get in trouble later in life when they don't know when to stop... I'm neutral, but I certainly wouldn't have told the security guard myself.

I was talking to Tom about things. He was saying he did the whole "Bad" thing when he was younger, but that he's a good boy now. I was saying how I'm still some angsty teenager and I do things like that for the power it gives me, and the adrenaline rush. He suggested that I should just imagine that I'm powerful. I pointed out that that's called meglomania. I also mentioned that if it came to it, one day I might be tempted to try Heroin, needless to say he didn't really understand my way of thinking. I mean he kept pointing out other, much safer ways to get a rush, and I was trying to explain to him that it wasn't about the rush, it was about the experience. I couldn't quite pin down what I meant though.

Experience is good. We're doing William Blake in English. Songs of Innocence and Songs of Experience. Everyone seems to have a very simplistic view that innocence is good and experience bad. I think rather the opposite. Especially in terms of these poems, the Innocence ones are boring as fuck.

I still hope I die before I get old.>