Surface change 2000-01-09 @ 6:55 p.m.

I am so tired. Seeing James again today, it's gonna be the last chance we get before we both go away. He to Scotland, and I to Spain. Oh how I wish our places were reversed.

I was thinking yesterday, about this memory I have from about a year ago. I was 15, and I went to Devon with my dad, and we met up with his friend Mark who lives in Canada, and Mark's eldest son, Sean, who was at the time 16, and we all stayed at my dad and Mark's friend Alan's house, and Alan's eldest daughter, Kellie, was 14.

Anyway, I remember vividly sitting in the livingroom with Alan, Mark, my dad, Kellie and Sean. Kellie's little brother Liam had gone to bed. And the adults were all just sitting there, in Alan's living room, reliving the good old days of their teenagehood, smoking pot, drinking, listening to Pink Floyd and telling us stories of their youth. And I just looked around at Kellie and Sean, and realised how little has really changed.

Me, Kellie or Sean might all be doing exactly the same thing with our own friends at one time or another. I say the same thing, but certain things would probably be different. For example we might be doing this in our friend's bedroom, not their livingroom, and instead of beer, we might be drinking WKDs, and instead of Pink Floyd, we might be listening to... I don't know... Feeder.

But these surface changes... I don't know. I don't really appreciate. I think it should be in the livingroom and listening to Pink Floyd. I don't know... change is necessary I guess, I mean obviously a calculator is more efficient than an abacus.. but... at the same time.. who doesn't love a good old abacus!

I guess I'm stuck firmly in the past. The glorious past which I am so bitter that I missed.>